Becoming More Aware: A Lifestyle Change

I am going to start this post out with a disclaimer; I by no means, have any experience in sustainability. With that being said, I’ll move on.

Over the last three semesters in my grad program our grad seminars have been heavily filled with discussions on critical topics. Everything that you see on your newsfeed nonstop is what we talk about but from a scientific perspective. As a group we discuss how we would like to change things to better help the world and the people in it. 

Over my summer semester, I was given the opportunity to replace one of my graduate seminars by joining in on a senior seminar. Here in this class with a bunch of undergrads is where one concept finally hit and stuck with me. 

We spent the whole summer in groups creating artsy picnic tables with a message. My group did The Sneeze, all about the spread of bacteria and viruses. 

All through undergrad I studied microbiology. This table was right up my alley. I stayed within my comfort zone… I cannot stress enough how debilitating that can be.

A group that worked next to us did their table on conservation. Here is where everything clicked. The main center piece of their table has just stayed with me. It made me want to do better for our planet, for the people on it, and the people that come after me. Sometimes it only takes one little thing to make you understand and this was it for me.

Picture Belongs to Dr. Tabit

The quote reads “We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children” just think about it… 

As the weeks went by I started thinking more and more about how careless I’ve been with the things I do. Now is the time to change my habits to reduce my footprint. 

My voice may be small and I may only be one person but that is one less person destroying borrowed land. 

In the weeks to come we will be making small changes in our household. Of course, I’ll be sharing the adventure with our successes and our failures. 

It’s definitely going to be interesting! 

Leave a Reply

